imagico.de
imagico.de

imagico.de

Geo-Visualization

German version

Franz Josef Land map

Franz Josef Land location

Franz Josef Land is a group of islands in the Russian Arctic at the northeast edge of Europe and further north than any other island in Europe and Asia. The remote location has lead to nearly all available satellite image mosaics to essentially excluding the area as can be seen for example in both Google Maps and Bing.

The map you can find here is mostly based on satellite images from the last 8 years. The relief data is older so there are significant mismatches is some parts. The satellite images layer is a mosaic created from the same Landsat images the mapping is based on. Most of the map data (except for the vegetation and relief) is available in Openstreetmap.

More details can be found in this blog post.

Visitor comments:

no comments yet.

Leave a comment
You have to enable Javascript to be able to write comments.
human verification Please enter the code you can see in the image on the left to verify you are a human and not a spamming script.
* * Required field
Information about you
*
will not be made public
will be displayed with your posting
Your comment (no HTML)

*

If you want to send a private message to the author of this website you can do so via Email.

The comments will be reviewed before they are added to the site. So you might need to wait some time until your entry turns up.

Please note this comment function is intended for commenting on the text and images, not for discussing political or religious views. Comments with no relation to the content of this site will not be approved.

imagico.de
imagico.de

imagico.de

Geo-Visualisierung

Englische Version

Karte von Franz-Josef-Land

Franz-Josef-Land Position

Franz-Josef-Land ist eine Inselgruppe in der russischen Arktis am nordöstlichen Rand Europas, weiter im Norden als jede andere Insel in Europa und Asien. Die abgelegene Position hat bewirkt, dass praktisch alle verfügbaren Satellitenbild-Zusammenstellungen die Inseln nicht vernünftig abdecken wie man anhand von zum Beispiel Google Maps und Bing sehr gut sehen kann.

Die Karte hier basiert vor allem auf Satellitenbildern der letzten 8 Jahre. Die Reliefdaten sind deutlich älter, was auch zu einigen Fehlpassungen führt. Das Satellitenbild-Mosaik basiert auf den selben Landsat-Bildern, welche auch für die Kartierung verwendet wurden. Die meisten Daten (mit Außnahme von Vegetation und Relief) sind auch in Openstreetmap verfügbar.

Weitere Erläuterungen finden sich im zugehörigen Blogeintrag.

Kommentare:

noch keine Kommentare.

Kommentar schreiben
Sie müssen Javascript aktivieren, um Kommentare schreiben zu können.
Verifikation Bitte geben Sie die Buchstabenfolge im Bild links in das Eingabefeld ein, damit ich Sie einfacher von Spam-Programmen unterscheiden kann.
* * Erforderliches Feld
Informationen über Sie
*
wird nicht veröffentlicht
wird mit ihrem Kommentar angezeigt
Ihr Kommentar (kein HTML)

*

Wenn Sie mir, dem Autor dieser Seite, eine private Nachricht senden möchten, können Sie dies per Email tun.

Die Kommentare werden erst nach einer Überprüfung freigeschaltet. Er kann somit einige Zeit dauern, bis Ihr Beitrag auftaucht.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Kommentarfunktion zum Kommentieren der Bilder und Texte und nicht zur Diskussion politischer oder religiöser Ansichten dient. Kommentare ohne Bezug zum Inhalt dieser Seite werden nicht freigeschaltet.